Kenmore - Town of Tonawanda Chamber of Commerce

New York State Paid Family Leave   

 As New York State prepares to finalize and implement the new Paid Family Leave Act, we wanted to share with you the proposed regulations as well as some additional insight on the law.

Regulation Overview:

On April 4, 2016 Governor Andrew Cuomo signed a bill requiring all employers to expand their disability offering and provide Paid Family Leave benefits to all eligible employees as part of the state's disability insurance program.  The law takes effect January 1, 2018 and will be phased in over a four-year period. Once fully implemented in 2021, employees will be eligible for up to 12 weeks of Paid Family Leave (PFL); this gives employees in New York State the richest PFL benefit in the country.  The law will supersede the Federal FMLA regulations and require that any employer with 1 or more employees comply so all employees in NYS will have the ability to take paid leave to care for a family member.

 

Paid Family Leave benefits are slated to increase over the next 4 years on the following schedule:

Please click here to view the proposed rules published by the Workers Compensation Board. These rules address the administration of, and eligibility for, PFL benefits.

  

 Please click here to view the proposed rules published by the Department of Financial Services. These rules concern minimum standards and the rating of PFL benefits.

Highlights on the Regulation (please note that details are still being finalized):  

  • NYS is required to set the maximum employee premium contribution to be taken via payroll deduction for the PFL benefit by June 1, 2017.
  • Rates are rumored to be between $0.70-$1.00 per employee, per week.
  • Per the regulations, premiums must be paid in full by the employee and there is no opt-out option.
  • Employers can begin withholding premiums from employees effective July 1, 2017.
  • Employers will be required to notify employees of their rights under the new law, although the method of notification has not yet been released by the state.
  • To be eligible for benefits, an employee must work for a covered employer for 26 or more consecutive weeks. 
  • Employers must hold the employee's position while they are out on PFL.
  • An employee cannot collect PFL and DBL benefits at the same time.
  • DBL and PFL cannot exceed more than 26 weeks total in any consecutive 52 week period.

More detailed information on Paid Family Leave regulations can be found in our legislative brief.

We will keep you updated as more information becomes available. Bene-Care will also be hosting a webinar in the coming weeks to review the regulation details in more depth; please keep an eye out for the invitation. 

 

Thank youand please do not hesitate to contact us with questions.

 

Sincerely,

Bene-Care, Inc.
1.800.333.1673 

www.bene-care.com 

Copyright © 2016 Ken-Ton Chamber of Commerce, All rights reserved.